The Balance.

I started to talked about this in an earlier post, but just didn’t get in depth enough with it. The balance between being in a band and going to school is something I’ve been doing since this whole thing started. High school was easy to balance since it is simply that; high school. With minimal homework and studying involved it was easy to put the band first in my life and school second.

Once I started going to college though, it became tug-o-war game between my school work and working with the band. 

It may sound simple, take time during the week to focus on school, and on the weekend focus on the band. Although I have made this work, it has been hard to put a full effort into both when you have to focus on one more than the other. For example, during the week you’ll have your typical agenda; go to class, receive assignment, finish assignment, repeat process. But having time to sit down and talk with other band members and continue to forward the band also has to be put in there. And yes, I know this sounds like a simple task, but somehow it really isn’t. Keeping up with the band’s social media pages, emails, and phone calls with band members takes time. This is the tug-o-war factor I was speaking about, and there is always a pull in the back of your mind when you find yourself focusing more on one than the other.

Basically what I’m trying to get at is, there are hundreds, probably thousands of guys (and gals) who are doing the same thing I am doing and I’m sure they feel the same way. For me, I love getting off campus during the weekend to head back to the jam space, pack up the gear, and play shows. It feels as if there are two different worlds and you are constantly jumping between them.

So if you are one of those musicians who balances school with your band, tell me about it. I’d love to hear how you balance the two and make the time for both to work.

 

_MG_0146edit

One thought on “The Balance.

Leave a Reply

